Bricks from Amy L

Three years ago we were supposed to go on the Agawa Canyon train ride with Greg a friend from the UP and a couple of his friends from Traverse City. As luck would have it (and/or Dale’s weather curse) it had rained a lot and the tracks were covered with mud so it was canceled. We all got together at our cabin for dinner instead. I happened to have one of my rescues at the cabin and told Amy about it. She said she had some stuff from her mom she would give me. Greg picked it up for me last fall. What a wonderful bag of goodies.

The fabrics are from the early 1900’s. I decided to do nothing to it besides repairs to open seams.

It needed a fair amount of quilting because of the narrow seams and thin fabric. I quilted concentric circles and pebbles. The print fabric on the back is from another estate sale. It’s good to have stash!

I used an 1800’s reproduction black print for the binding.

Greg left Brimley for Lexington, KY yesterday so I was able to meet him on his way. He promises he’ll use it. It’s 72 x 79.

5 thoughts on “Bricks from Amy L

Leave a comment